DEU | ENG
You are here: Home / FAQ / DNSsec

FAQ

Printversion

DNSsec

alle show / hide


fold faqWhat is DNSSEC?

DNSSEC is a security extension for the Domain Name System that guarantees both authenticity and data integrity of DNS transactions. In other words, DNSSEC makes sure that you will access the domain you actually want to reach by preventing the malicious manipulation of DNS data.

fold faqWho benefits from DNSSEC?

•    The Internet community benefits from a better Internet security.
•    Registrars can offer new services to their customers.
•    Access providers provide unaltered domain queries to their customers.
•    Domain holders protect their domains from unauthorized DNS attacks.
•    Institutions with online payment (e.g. banks, web-shops etc.) or sensitive data transactions can protect their customers from misuse and gain confidence in the world-wide web.

fold faqHow do I recognize a domain with a DNSSEC signature?

Actually, the user doesn’t notice anything when surfing the Internet. Domains with a DNSSEC signature can be recognized through additional information in the Whois : a DNSSEC entry with key information that includes the key, key tag, algorithm type and hash type. Additionally, users can check on  www.dnsviz.net External Link  whether a domain has a DNSSEC signature or not. The entire chain of signatures from the root zone to the domain can be seen, including the visualization of any validation gaps.

fold faqHow can I get a DNSSEC signature for my domain?

Your first contact is your Internet service provider or registrar. At www.at-partner.at you can find out if the registrar offers DNSSEC. If you possess the required DNSSEC technology for your nameservers yourself, just specify the DS-record of your domain in the online application for  data modification. In addition, nic.at requires the proper  written document for DNSSEC modifications External Link, which must include the DNSSEC information as well as your signature. The form is generated automatically after completing the online application.

fold faqWhat do the terms key, key tag, algorithm and hash type mean?

These details must be specified in the online application when adding a DNSSEC signature, and they are also shown as special Whois entries.
key = hash of the used Key Signing Key
key tag = identification number of the Key Signing Key
algorithm = used algorithm of the referenced key
hash type = used hash algorithm

fold faqWhat happens with my DNSSEC domain if there is a change of the ISP / registrar?

If the gaining registrar/ISP supports DNSSEC, your domain remains signed. If he doesn’t support DNSSEC, the DS-records are automatically removed as soon as the domain is transferred to the new registrar/ISP. This means that your domain no longer has a DNSSEC signature. nic.at will inform you by e-mail if this is the case.

fold faqWhere do I get more information about DNSSEC?

Please find a DNSSEC summary as well as further links at Technical Information - DNSSEC.

fold faqWhere do I find the DNSSEC policy of nic.at?

In a DNSSEC Policy & Practice Statement each registry defines how they handle DNSSEC issues, which safety measures are relevant for the key administration, how transactions are logged, and which algorithms and time limits are to be applied. The nic.at DNSSEC policy is available as a PDF-document here PDF Link.

DEU | ENG
Sie befinden sich hier: Home / FAQ / DNSsec

FAQ

Printversion

DNSsec

alle anzeigen / verstecken


Antwort auf/zuklappenWas ist DNSSEC?

DNSSEC ist eine Sicherheits-Erweiterung für das Domain Name System. Sie garantiert die Echtheit (Authentizität) und Vollständigkeit (Integrität) von DNS-Antworten. Anders gesagt: DNSSEC gewährleistet, dass Sie im Internet zu der Domain gelangen, zu der Sie wollen und verhindert das böswillige Verfälschen von DNS-Daten.

Antwort auf/zuklappenWem nützt DNSSEC?

•    Die Internet-Community profitiert von mehr Sicherheit im Internet
•    Registrare können ihren Kunden neue Dienstleistungen anbieten
•    Zugangsprovider ermöglichen ihren Kunden unverfälschte Domain-Abfragen
•    Domain-Inhaber schützen ihre Domain vor ungewollten DNS-Attacken
•    Institutionen mit Online-Zahlungsverkehr (z.B. Banken, Webshops etc.) oder sensiblen Daten-Transaktionen können ihre Kunden vor Missbrauch schützen – und Vertrauen im Netz gewinnen

Antwort auf/zuklappenWoran erkenne ich eine DNSSEC signierte Domain?

Der User selbst merkt beim Internet-Surfen nichts. DNSSEC signierte Domains erkennt man an einer zusätzlichen Information im Whois : Es scheint der Vermerk DNSSEC mit der Schlüsselinformation bestehend aus Schlüssel, key tag, Algorithmustyp und Hashtyp auf. Aber auch auf der Website  www.dnsviz.net External Link kann man feststellen, ob eine Domain DNSSEC signiert ist oder nicht und sich die gesamte Signierungskette von der Root Zone bis zur Domain ansehen. Gibt es Lücken in der Validierung, werden diese visualisiert. 

Antwort auf/zuklappenWie kann ich meine Domain DNSSEC signieren (lassen)?

Ihr erster Ansprechpartner dafür ist Ihr Internet-Dienstleister bzw. Registrar.  Ob er DNSSEC anbietet, können Sie unter  www.at-partner.at External Link herausfinden. Verfügen Sie selbst über die nötige DNSSEC-Technologie für Ihre Nameserver, geben Sie bitte den DS-Record für Ihre Domain im Online-Auftrag zur Datenänderung an und senden Sie zusätzlich das Formular Änderung DNSSEC PDF Link mit den DNSSEC-Informationen unterzeichnet an nic.at. Das Formular generiert sich automatisch nach dem Ausfüllen des Online-Auftrags.

Antwort auf/zuklappenWas bedeuten die Begriffe Schlüssel, Keytag, Algorithmus und Hashtyp?

Diese Angaben sind beim Online-Auftrag zur DNSSEC Signierung anzugeben und werden auch im Whois angezeigt. 
Schlüssel = Hash des verwendeten Key Signining Keys
Keytag = Identifikationsnummer the Key Signinig Keys
Algorithmus = Verwendeter Algorithmus des referenzierten Schlüssels
Hashtyp = Verwendeter Hash-Algorithmus 

Antwort auf/zuklappenWas passiert bei einem Providerwechsel mit meiner DNSSEC signierten Domain?

Unterstützt Ihr neuer Registrar/Provider DNSSEC, so bleibt Ihre Domain weiterhin signiert. Unterstützt er DNSSEC nicht, werden beim Wechsel zum neuen Registrar/Provider die DS-Records automatisch entfernt. Das bedeutet, dass Ihre Domain dann nicht mehr DNSSEC signiert ist. Darüber werden Sie von uns per e-mail informiert.

Antwort auf/zuklappenWo erfahre ich mehr über DNSSEC?

Eine Übersicht über DNSSEC sowie weiterführende Links finden Sie bei den Technischen Informationen - Rubrik DNSSEC.

Antwort auf/zuklappenWo finde ich die DNSSEC Policy von nic.at?

Jede Registry hat in ihrem DNSSEC Policy & Practice Statement festgelegt, wie sie DNSSEC handhabt, welche Sicherheitsvorkehrungen in der Key-Verwaltung sie trifft, wie Transaktionen mitgeloggt werden und welche Algorithmen und zeitlichen Fristen zur Anwendung kommen. Die nic.at DNSSEC Policy finden Sie hier als PDF (in englischer Sprache) PDF Link.